TOW 5 Twitter

So I signed up for my Twitter account today pretty skeptical of what it might be like. I was supposed to get started on it last Monday but my week has been pretty hectic with both my mother and grandmother having major surgeries. My grandmother has just been diagnosed with breast cancer and had to have her right breast removed this week while my mother had her gallbladder removed. It has been very tiring trying to take care of both of them…. but today is my catch up day! Whoop whoop.

Twitter was a lot of fun using today though. Even though I had a lot of catching up to do and constantly updating my tweets, it was pretty addicting. I must say though that I am a true Facebook fan and will continue to use that website a little more than Twitter. Twitter is mainly for PR practitioners, celebrities, and the corporate world. Facebook is more for college students, people trying to stay in touch, and bored students wasting their time. I believe both will impact a lot of people’s lives though. It is pretty fun seeing all of my friends tweets about everything they are doing, watching, or eating. It definitely keeps you in touch with a lot going on in the world, or Statesboro at least. I feel like I’m apart of a special elite group now that I have joined Twitter. I know it is nothing special but still adds excitement getting online and seeing your friend’s latest thought or dream. It is also pretty great that our professor has one to help guide us and show us the ropes. I feel like a lot more people within the next couple of years will slowly progress towards Twitter and stray away from Facebook like everyone did with Myspace. Hopefully Twitter will remain the new fad for a while!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. caseycorley
    Jun 15, 2010 @ 02:40:23

    I also signed up for a Twitter account for PRCA 2330- at first I was a little unsure about what to do but I ended up getting the hang of it. I definitely agree with you about Facebook. I am a big Facebook fan and check my account daily. Facebook is also a really good way for people to keep in touch. As of right now, I still prefer Facebook over Twitter. Like you said, maybe people will end up straying away from FB and moving to twitter but only time will tell! Also I hope your mother and your grandmother’s surgeries both went well.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

